Foundation for Contemporary Arts Names 2019 Grants to Artists, Including Tania Bruguera, Trisha Donnelly -ARTnews

Clarissa Tossin, choreography/performer Crystal Sepúlveda, and cinematographer Jeremy Glaholt, Ch’u Mayaa, HD single-cannel digital video, 2017. Originally commissioned by the City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs for the exhibition Condemned to be Modern as part of Getty Foundation’s Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA. 


The New York–based nonprofit Foundation for Contemporary Arts has named the 18 artists who will receive unrestricted grants of $40,000 in its 2019 grant cycle.

The annual Grants to Artists program was established in 1993, and recipients are chosen by the foundation’s board of directors through a confidential nomination and selection process. The board includes artists Cecily Brown, Anne Collier, Jasper Johns, Jennie C. Jones, Julian Lethbridge, Glenn Ligon, Dean Moss, James Welling, and T.J. Wilcox. The board’s non-artist members are Anthony B. Creamer III, Anne Dias, and Agnes Gund.

Brown told ARTnews that the 2019 grant nominations were more geographically diverse and less “New York-centric” than in previous years, saying, “The net is spreading wider than it perhaps used to.”

“It’s always an overwhelming but fantastic experience of seeing how much amazing stuff is out there that you might not otherwise know about,” she said. “One big thing is that [receiving a grant] is a sign of respect from your peers, and hopefully it can really help someone to not do their day job for a while and buy the time to really put into one’s own work. Even just being able to focus on one’s work full time is a huge difference.

This year, the board was joined in its selection process by Danspace Project executive director and chief curator Judy Hussie-Taylor; musician Jenny Lin; MoMA associate curator Yasmil Raymond; and director, playwright, poet, and performer Fiona Templeton. Poet Renne Gladman and artist Trevor Winkfield advised the committee for the poetry category.

The list of grantees follows in full below.

Darrell Jones, Chicago
Mina Nishimura, Brooklyn
taisha paggett, Los Angeles and Riverside, California (The Merce Cunningham Award)

Camae Ayewa, Philadelphia
Sarah Hennies, Ithaca, New York
Roberto Carlos Lange, Brooklyn
Tomeka Reid, Queens and Chicago
C. Spencer Yeh, Queens

Performance Art/Theater
Tania Bruguera, New York (The Robert Rauschenberg Award)
Julie Tolentino, Joshua Tree, California

Amy Gerstler, Los Angeles (The C.D. Wright Award for Poetry)
Douglas Kearney, Maple Grove, Minnesota (The Cy Twombly Award for Poetry)
Stacy Szymaszek, Missoula, Montana

Visual Arts
Trisha Donnelly, New York (The Dorothea Tanning Award)
Joseph Grigely, Chicago
Andy Robert, Brooklyn (The Roy Lichtenstein Award)
Mika Tajima, New York (This award is supported by the FCA Friends)
Clarissa Tossin, Los Angeles

Source link